Today I took a journey through my mind
I was determined that I would find
The key to who I truly was inside
But I fear that ellusive key did hide.

Inside of me I searched and found
Halls of memory, devoid of sound
The candle of faith was my only light
As I wandered in that internal night.

That hallway was lined by many a door
Behind which hid memories by the score
Memories gathered over all my years
Those doors hid both laughter and tears.

Some were bolted with lock and chain
I knew behind those hid great pain
Those room's hid things I could not face
So I had put the keys in a hidden place.

Others were warped with age and care
Touching them filled me with despair
I knew those rooms contained the strife
I had endured throughout my life.

But here and there, soft light would seep
Beneath the door, brightening darkness deep
Touching those doors helped me to cope
For behind them hid my dreams and hope.

And when I had closed the door into my mind
I returned to reality and myself to find
The eyes in the mirror looking back at me
All along had held that ellusive key.

The stress that had put lines upon my face
The fleeting joy that did my tears erase
The pain and joys in my life that I did see
Had in the end created me.
About MARANTHA DREAMWEAVER JENELLE

WRITER'S USE WORDS TO PAINT PICTURES ON THE CANVASES OF THEIR READER'S MINDS. marantha d. jenelle/aka 'maradjen'

One response »

  1. […] in turmoil. I have been reading over some of the posts that I have made in the past. One of them, MY JOURNEY, got me to thinking. For those that have read any of my posts that deal with matters pertaining to […]

Leave a Reply

