I WONDER IF ANY ONE ELSE ON THIS SITE, ESPECIALLY THOSE THAT SEEM TO GENERATE SO MANY COMMENTS AND WHO ALWAYS SEEM TO COMMENT ON EVERYONE ELSE’S POSTS NEVER SEEM TO FIND THE TIME TO READ ANY OF MINE, AND IF THEY DO, WHY THEY FIND THEM SO MUNDANE THEY CAN’T EVEN COMMENT.

SO I AM GOING TO PULL ALL OF MY ENTRIES THAT CONTAIN THE STORY I WAS TRYING TO SHARE ON HERE. I JUST HOPE IT’S RECEPTION BY THE REST OF THE WORLD WHEN I PUBLISH IT WILL BE BETTER THAN WHAT I HAVE RECEIVED ON WORDPRESS.

I AM EVEN SERIOUSLY CONSIDERING JUST CLOSING THIS BLOG, SINCE NO ONE OTHER THAN THREE OR FOUR EVEN FIND WHAT I HAVE TO SAY EVEN INTERESTING ENOUGH TO LEAVE A NEGATIVE COMMENT.

 

NO ONE LIKES BEING MADE TO FEEL LIKE THEY WHAT THEY HAVE TO SAY HAS NO WORTH OR MEANING AND ENGENDERS NOT ONE SINGLE REACTION.

 

MARANTHA JENELLE

 

About MARANTHA DREAMWEAVER JENELLE

WRITER'S USE WORDS TO PAINT PICTURES ON THE CANVASES OF THEIR READER'S MINDS. marantha d. jenelle/aka 'maradjen'

4 responses »

  1. Dear Marantha,
    First of all, I’d like to tell you something. I have a website/blog on WordPress and belong to Romance Writers of America Women’s Fiction and RWA/Elements along with Kristen Lamb’s Yahoo group WANAMinions. That’s a lot of people who have blogs that they want each other to read. I blog every single Wednesday and started about 4 months ago. To this day I don’t think I’ve every had more than 10 commenters on my blog. But, they’re fairly consistent and I also have people that read my blog and don’t comment – something “I” used to do before I owned a website. i used to read all kinds of blogs and never, ever comment. Then, when
    i realized that commenting meant something to the writer of the blog, I began commenting, even if it was just “good blog” or something like that. Anyway my point is, it takes a LONG time to generate a following and for me, my books aren’t even out yet, so I have no “reader” following. So, if you say that about 4 consistent people comment on your blog, that doesn’t sound so bad to me. Along with that, I have to say (just in my opinion) if a blogger posts material that’s going to take me a LONG time to read, I don’t participate and don’t read it. I noted that you had chapters of your book on your blog and honestly, Marantha, most people don’t have the time to read that much on someone’s blog. I’m following maybe somewhere around 25 or so blogs a DAY and I don’t have the time. Not to be mean, but your blog is the only one I’ve ever seen where a writer posts chapters and chapters of her work. I think it’s a time thing and you should NOT take it personally. Maybe try blogging about something else or on shorter topics or whatever. My favorite bloggers are those who only write a few paragraphs which are succinct and to the point and don’t go on and on. I wouldn’t quit, Marantha. Change it up a little but don’t give up.
    Patti

  2. Hi Marantha,

    Patti, above, has some excellent ideas, some similar to ones that occurred to me when I read your post. I began my blog eight years ago and went months before I got a couple of comments. Weeks went by before I got any more comments. I felt discouraged at times, but stayed with it. In time I noticed something about some popular blogs I read. They tended to include overlapping circles of fellow bloggers. I realized that to have a blogging friend, it helps to be a blogging friend. It helps if you find and frequent even a small handful of blogs that interest you — ones by individuals such as yourself (as opposed, to say, a celebrity). Read their blogs and leave comments. Observe what seems to work for them in generating interest and comments, and what doesn’t. Be sure to include the link (URL) for your blog with every comment you leave. After a time ask that they include your blog on their blogroll, if they have one. If after a couple of months the bloggers you visit regularly aren’t visiting your blog, invite them to. Ask them to visit and comment and critique your blog.

    I’m not much for reading fiction unless it’s humor. I do know a bit about writing, however, and appreciate that those who are good at short fiction have a special talent and remarkable discipline developed over time. Patti’s suggestion of mixing in some nonfiction posts is a good one. Try for some things that interest you and things you think might interest bloggers you’ve hooked up with online. Find these things in the news, at other blog and from what’s going on around you. Then, see if you can come at those topics in a novel, humorous or especially thoughtful way.

    By way of constructive criticism, I suggest that you stop writing in all capital letters. Also, the pattern at the top of your blog is big, vivid and jarring. Worse, it clashes with the vivid pattern down the sides of your blog. Together, they’re too busy and distracting. If you want to use a vivid pattern, I suggest you limit it to a much smaller area, and use it only as an accent.

    Here are some links to blogs you might find worth a visit or two. They tend to include some fiction and/or express interest in fiction.

    http://www.labeletterouge.com/

    http://davidbarberfiction.blogspot.com/

    http://okjimmseggrollemporium.blogspot.com/

    http://carolinaparrothead.blogspot.com/

    Try not to be discouraged. There are literally millions of blogs on the Net. Getting your blog noticed and building a following aren’t easy things to do, but they are doable. Hang in there, keep your sense of humor and a positive attitude, and experiment with different things until you get some that “click.”

    Good luck.

  3. popeye says:

    hey i love you you are one crazy friend

  4. Eric Swett says:

    Receiving comments is an uncommon thing for most people….myself included. Don’t worry about them, most people can’t be bothered to leave them…myself included.

Leave a Reply

