Well, the title just about says it all! Just about every time I think I have everything neatly in line with my current wip…all the I’s dotted and T’s crossed…

That tricky, sneaky, devious, conniving little muse of mine throws a bloody blasted monkey wrench into my perfectly fine (or so I believe till SHE puts her two cents in!) story!

Yup, you got it! Along she comes and starts whispering as I am reading key parts and totally and completely throws a blooming spanner in the works…usually in the form of suggesting merely a word or two changed here or there…or mayhaps a sentence added or taken away…and BAM!…I have to go back and readjust more key parts than you could shake a blooming bazooka at!

I was feeling so very proud of myself just two days ago, for I had just spent nearly three weeks going sentence by sentence, paragraph by paragraph, painstakingly going back and forth as I tried my best to tie all of the story threads together in THE IHMAYRAN CHRONICLES (and folks, let me tell you, there are a lot of them, some that you won’t realize EVEN ARE threads till you get further along than were you currently might be!) and had finally, with a huge sigh of relief, finished editing the very last paragraph of what I have so far of the story, which is in truth only lacking the one last section to be complete, so I took it in my head to take a few days hiatus away from it…

And that sneaky muse of mine let me have it right between the eyes, literally…for when I went back this morning and began attempting to read the story as a reader and not as its author, that sneaky little wench started whispering here and there as I was reading certain parts…making suggestions…telling me that “wouldn’t it have been better to have put that this way?” or “don’t you think it would sound oh so much better if you changed that word and added this sentence or two?”, and you want to know what happened?

I’LL TELL YOU WHAT HAPPENED!

I ENDED UP SPENDING THIS ENTIRE DAY HAVING TO REWRITE TWO ENTIRE CHAPTERS ALONE, NOT TO MENTION PARTS OF THE OTHER THREE, SIMPLY BECAUSE MY MUSE GOT ME TO THINKING AND CAUSED ME TO CHANGE FIVE LOUSY BLASTED SENTENCES, THAT’S WHAT! AND I AM ONLY HALF WAY THROUGH WITH THOSE CHANGES! AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

Five added sentences, four completely new paragraphs (which were the reason I had to rewrite, for the most part, those two aforementioned chapters), and hours later, and believe it or not, I have to reluctantly admit that my muse was right…it is better than it was two days ago.

So I guess I should be grateful for her whispers, but dag nabbit all, if she keeps this up, I will never get the last part written! And from the hints she has been dropping, it is going to have a lot of neat stuff in it.

But you know what scares the crud out of me? That she will finally let up just long enough to let me get that crucial last part written and then she is going to lower the boom and REALLY let me have it! I stripped what I had posted on WordPress because my muse caused me to change key parts at least four times in the three days it had been on the site, which would have meant I would have had to redo the posts. So I removed them.

Besides, no one appeared to be reading them anyway, so I guess it doesn’t matter, just like no one will probably read this, but heck, it is getting it off of my chest, so I no longer care if anyone reads what I post anyway. I’ve lost what few readers I had anyway, so I guess it doesn’t matter anymore.

All that matters is getting this story finished, getting it posted for sale as both e-book and paperback through amazon kdp and createspace, and then getting back to SECRETS OF THE SEA, which is a rewrite of MARILLA AND THE MERMAID, the same book that Publish America screwed me on. (Part of that one is posted here on wp, not that anyone is interested.)

So, now I will dive back in and follow my muses lead, heed her little whispers, and see where it leads me.

Aggravating she might be, but she hasn’t led me wrong so far, so I guess I will just keep following her advice. I will replace what I stripped of THE IHMAYRAN CHRONICLES back on the site once she decides it is good enough!

On a closing note, I will state this much…I have learned a lot through my work on this particular story. It began on 10-20-2010, and was meant to be a simple fairy tale, maybe sixty to eighty pages, but through three title changes and lord only knows how many actual changes in the story itself, it has grown…and so have I.

I will admit truthfully that when I wrote, and disastrously self published through three corrupt self publishing houses, my first four books, I was under the impression that all I had to do was to write the words, accept how they came, do minor editing and then send them out into the world just as they were…

An opinion that I have learned since was totally and completely false.

Even more false was my idea that what came to me when I was writing was set in stone and as it was meant to be, that it should not be altered…or rather that to alter it would to be to deny that it was mine…that it was not good enough…that to change what came to me of its own accord-save for editing for spelling, sentence structure, punctuation and such-was to mean that I had not done it right the first time, that I was a failure unless I changed it.

Again, I have since learned that in this case change is not necessarily a bad or evil thing, but can, in the case of writing, often lead to a story growing even better, stronger, for those very changes.

But I will let any who choose to read it when I put it back on wp decide for themselves. All I ask is that when I do post it back, that any who read it at least have the courtesy to let me know what they think.

marantha jenelle

About MARANTHA DREAMWEAVER JENELLE

WRITER'S USE WORDS TO PAINT PICTURES ON THE CANVASES OF THEIR READER'S MINDS. marantha d. jenelle/aka 'maradjen'

5 responses »

  1. pattisj says:

    You’re definitely maturing as a writer. Yes, there always seems to be polishing and rewriting to do, but the more you do it, the better it gets. A lot of hours, days, months, even years are required to get a book ready for a reader. Keep up the good work, Jan.

    • thank you, patti. it appears you are the only one that keeps up with me any more. but that’s cool, ’cause i don’t have much time to be reading other’s stuff either.

      cyber hugs

      marantha

  2. Eric Swett says:

    Keep up the work! You’ll have it all in place and then the big time will come!

  3. From reading this it seems to me that you’re a good writer. Where are your other blogs? Do you have an archive?

    • right now the only two i really post on much are this one and the scribd one.
      i am hoping to start back to doing the inmon prompts just as soon as i finish the chronicles.

Leave a Reply

