HELLO, DEAR WORDPRESSIANS AND GUEST READERS, TODAY I HAVE A REAL TREAT FOR YOU!

I HAVE A GUEST POSTER, A YOUNG MAN, THE BROTHER OF ONE OF THE MANY TALENTED YOUNGER WONDERFUL WRITERS OF WORDPRESS, JOINING ME TODAY!

HE HAS GRACIOUSLY ALLOWED ME TO POST ONE OF HIS STORIES HERE ON MY BLOG.

SO LET’S GIVE A WARM WELCOME TO PIANOLOVER, AN ADMITTEDLY YOUNG BUT EXTREMELY TALENTED WRITER!

THE POST BELOW IS EXACTLY AS HE SENT IT TO ME IN AN EMAIL, SAVE FOR A FEW CAPITALIZATIONS AND MINOR PUNCTUATION CHANGES, THE WORDING HAS NOT BEEN ALTERED. I EVEN INCLUDED HIS GREETING.

SO GRAB A GLASS OF INTERNET COLA OR A SOOTHING CUP OF CYBER TEA AND PREPARE YOURSELF TO BE DELIGHTED, AMAZED AND THOROUGHLY ENCHANTED BY THE AWESOME TALENT OF PIANOLOVER!

You said you wanted to let me have a guest post in your blog a while back? (this is Pianolover1114) while here is my inspiration Monday I wrote last week but never published.

The Lead in a Cage

“I’m so excited for you honey! When I was eleven, I was the star in all my plays. In fact…”


Her voice trails off as I pretend to be interested in her raving about her stardom youth. Who cares if I’m the lead in some stupid play? Who cares if I’m a, ‘natural born actor’? Who cares if I never want to be in movies like my mom was?

“…and that was how I got my first Grammy!”

“Wow. That’s great mom!” I smile

“Well, it wasn’t actually a Grammy you see I…” she continues. All I can do is roll my eyes.

Dad never would have forced me to be in something I didn’t want to be in.

Well, she isn’t actually forcing me.

It was all because I was stupid enough to mention the middle school production of, The Princess and the Pea. Stupid Ali. She was so happy, and she couldn’t wait to see it and she knew I was a star. How could I bear to see her disappointed face?

“Are you ready to go? The play is in 10 minutes.”

“I can’t wait mom!”

If only she would listen to me she would know I wanted to be a musician instead. It’s not that I can’t act. I act really well. It’s not stage fright. I never get stage fright. It’s that I hate it.

If only I had the courage to tell her than maybe I wouldn’t have to listen to her the whole ride. It would be so easy. Just 5 little words. ‘I don’t want to act’. And I can almost feel them come out of my mouth. But how can I? I’m the only one who doesn’t want me to act. I’m the only one who doesn’t want to act.

So instead I sit in silence until we pull up to the theater and I go behind stage. And I wait until I hear, “okay were on in 3…2…1… Now!” the director points at me. I’m a lead in a cage. A cage of my own fear, my mothers expectations and my fathers death. A cage that I choose to stay in, as I go into character and start acting.

About MARANTHA DREAMWEAVER JENELLE

WRITER'S USE WORDS TO PAINT PICTURES ON THE CANVASES OF THEIR READER'S MINDS. marantha d. jenelle/aka 'maradjen'

4 responses »

    • THANK YOU! I AM GOING TO TRY TO HAVE OUR INTERVIEW DONE AND UP TODAY. AND HOW WOULD YOU LIKE TO GUEST POST? I WOULD BE HONORED TO HAVE YOU ON MY BLOG!

      HUGS AND LOADS OF LOVE COMING YOUR WAY!

      MARANTHA

      • Great! Thank you so much. I’m a little slow in getting through my todo list, but I’d love to guest post when things are little less wild. 😀

  1. Mama Zen says:

    What a great write!

Leave a Reply

