Posted on 06/21/2011 by MARANTHA JENELLE (THIS IS THE ORIGINAL POSTING DATE)

 

Hello once again, dear readers, from GHOST WHISPERS! Today I had the honor and privilege of speaking with Eric Swett of MY WRITER’S CRAMP.

Eric is one of the many talented writers here on WordPress, and also someone I am proud to call a friend.

Even though Eric’s life is very busy, he graciously shared some of his time to grant me this interview.

So come, meet Eric Swett, of “MY WRITER’S CRAMP”, another one of THE WONDERFUL WRITERS OF WORDPRESS!

AMBER MICHELLE: HELLO ONCE AGAIN, DEAR READERS, AND WELCOME BACK TO MARANTHA JENELLE’S GHOST WHISPERS.

AMBER MICHELLE: TODAY MY GUEST IS ERIC SWETT OF “MY WRITER’S CRAMP“.

AMBER MICHELLE: WELCOME, ERIC, TO GHOST WHISPERS.

eric.swett): THANK YOU FOR HAVING ME.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, I HAVE BEEN A SUBSCRIBER TO YOUR BLOG, MY WRITER’S CRAMP, FOR ABOUT TWO MONTHS NOW, AND I HAVE READ QUITE A FEW OF YOUR POSTS. YOU HAVE GOT A LOT OF TALENT.

AMBER MICHELLE: THE FIRST THING I WOULD LIKE TO ASK YOU IS WHEN YOU FIRST KNEW YOU WANTED TO BECOME A WRITER?

eric.swett: ITS HARD TO SAY REALLY. I STARTED WRITING SOME IN HIGH SCHOOL…MOSTLY BAD POETRY WHICH RAN ON INTO COLLEGE….FOR FUN I TOOK A FEW WRITING CLASSES AND ENJOYED IT. I DIDN’T REALLY TAKE WRITING AS A CAREER SERIOUSLY UNTIL THE LAST YEAR OR SO REALLY. BEFORE THEN IT WAS JUST SORT OF SOMETHING I TORTURED MYSELF OVER.

AMBER MICHELLE: AH, THEN THE URGE WAS ALWAYS THERE, JUST MORE OR LESS DORMANT UNTIL RECENTLY, CORRECT?

eric.swett: I DON’T EVEN KNOW THAT I WOULD CALL IT AN URGE. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE AN IDEA WOULD HIT ME AND I WOULD WRITE IT OUT. MOST OF MY CREATIVE OUTPOURING WENT INTO PLAY DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, WHAT SORT OF BOOKS BY OTHER AUTHORS MIGHT HAVE HAD AN INFLUENCE ON THE WAY THAT YOU WRITE NOW?

eric.swett: WELL ROBERT JORDAN AND TOLKIEN WERE BIG INFLUENCES ALONG WITH CHRISTOPHER STASCHEF, MARGARET WEISS AND TRACY HICKMAN AND L. RON HUBBARD. SOME OF MY MORE RECENT WORK DRAWS A LITTLE INSPIRATION FROM ROGER ZELAZNY AND MICHAEL MOORCOCK THOUGH.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, SADLY TO SAY, I ONLY RECOGNIZED ONE NAME OUT OF ALL OF THOSE-TOLKIEN-LORD OF THE RINGS.

AMBER MICHELLE: BUT I WILL PAY YOU THE HIGHEST COMPLIMENT THAT I KNOW OF…YOUR WORK REMINDS ME OF LOUIS L’AMOUR, FOR IT GRABS YOU BY THE HAND AND PULLS YOU ALONG FROM THE FIRST WORD, PULLING YOU OUT OF THIS WORLD AND INTO THE WORLD OF THE STORY WITH SUCH EASE AND FLOW THAT WHEN YOU REACH THE END OF THE STORY, IT IS ALMOST LIKE WALKING OFF OF A CURB, WHERE YOU ARE SUSPENDED MOMENTARILY IN AIR.

AMBER MICHELLE: YOUR SERIES, “ALONE”, IS A PRIME EXAMPLE.

AMBER MICHELLE: ONLY ONE PROBLEM, YOU GET CAUGHT UP AND THEN HAVE TO GO TREASURE HUNTING TO FIND THE NEXT PART!

AMBER MICHELLE: WHERE DO YOU DERIVE YOUR INSPIRATION FOR YOUR STORIES FROM?

eric.swett: SOME OF THE INSPIRATION COMES FROM WHAT I’VE READ AND THE MOVIES I’VE WATCHED. WRITING IN SCI-FI, FANTASY, URBAN FANTASY AND POST APOCALYPTIC TENDS TO MAKE ME HAVE TO DIG DEEP TO CREATE SINCE IT ALL RESIDES IN THE LAND OF MAKE BELIEVE.

AMBER MICHELLE: THIS IS TRUE, YOU ALMOST HAVE TO HOLD A TINY BIT OF CHILD IN YOUR HEART AND SOUL TO BE ABLE TO WRITE IN THOSE GENRE’S, FOR THE VERY FACT THAT THEY ARE NOT A PART OF REALITY.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, I ASSUME YOU HAVE A JOB AND FAMILY AND CIRCLE OF FRIENDS, MEANING A POSSIBLE SOCIAL LIFE, HOW DO YOU FIND TIME TO CREATE THE WONDERFUL STORIES THAT YOU SHARE WITH US HERE ON WORDPRESS, AND STILL MANAGE TO DO THAT ONE HUNDRED DAY CHALLENGE AS WELL!

eric.swett: ITS NOT EASY. I USUALLY DO MY 100-WORD WRITING CHALLENGE FIRST THING IN THE MORNING BEFORE THE REST OF MY FAMILY IS AWAKE. THE REST OF MY WRITING I DO WHENEVER I TAKE A BREAK OR IF I HAVE A FEW MINUTES TO MYSELF IN THE EVENING

AMBER MICHELLE: WELL, ALL I CAN SAY IS I ADMIRE YOU, FOR YOUR STORIES NEVER FAIL TO REMAIN STRONG, DESPITE YOUR OBVIOUSLY NOT BEING ABLE TO SIT AND DEVOTE EXTENDED TIME AND FOCUS ON THEM.

eric.swett: THANK YOU.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, IF YOU HAD ANY ADVICE TO OFFER TO OTHER WRITERS OUT THERE, BOTH OLD AND NEW, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

eric.swett: WRITE…DON’T THINK ABOUT WRITING, JUST DO IT. WORRY ABOUT EDITING LATER, ONCE THE WORDS ARE ON PAPER…OH, AND WHATEVER YOU DO DON’T LET OTHER PEOPLE DERAIL YOUR WRITING FOR YOU.

AMBER MICHELLE: AHHHHHHH, NOW THAT LAST COULD HAVE ALMOST BEEN SAID DIRECTLY TO ME, FOR IT IS SOMETHING I MYSELF FIGHT AND I STRONGLY IMAGINE OTHER WRITERS DO AS WELL.

eric.swett: I HAD MY WRITING LEGS CUT OUT FROM UNDER ME ABOUT FOUR YEARS AGO BY LISTENING TO OTHERS TOO MUCH AND IT TOOK ME THREE YEARS TO REALLY RECOVER.

AMBER MICHELLE:  OUCH, I UNDERSTAND.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, I ORIGINALLY FOUND YOU AT THE ADVICE OF A FELLOW WRITER ON SITE WHEN I HAD ASKED THEM ABOUT PROMPTS.

AMBER MICHELLE: THEY HAD REFERRED ME TO YOU, FOR YOU HAD POSTED A FEW, A COUPLE OF WHICH I MYSELF RESPONDED TO.

AMBER MICHELLE: MY QUESTION IS THIS, MIGHT YOU, IN THE FUTURE, POST MORE OF THE PROMPTS?

eric.swett: I’VE THOUGHT ABOUT IT AND I ORIGINALLY PLANNED TO, BUT I RE-FOCUSED MY EFFORTS ON MY OWN WORK SO IT SORT OF FELL TO THE WAYSIDE. I MAY DO ANOTHER ONE IN JULY…SOMETHING A BIT DIFFERENT FROM THE LAST ONE THOUGH…

AMBER MICHELLE: OH, I AM SO GLAD.

AMBER MICHELLE: YOUR LAST ONES WERE VERY GOOD.

AMBER MICHELLE: IN FACT I BELIEVE MY OWN STORY, “BEDEVILED” WAS THE RESULT OF THE FIRST OF YOUR PROMPTS I RESPONDED TO.

eric.swett: I BELIEVE IT WAS.

AMBER MICHELLE: IT INSPIRED ME SO MUCH THAT SEVERAL COMMENTED THAT THE STORY THAT RESULTED FROM THAT PROMPT BE POSSIBLY TAKEN FURTHER.

AMBER MICHELLE: YOU DID VERY WELL.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, HAVE YOU EVER SUFFERED WRITER’S BLOCK?

eric.swett: OH GOD YES. MY ORIGINAL ATTEMPT AT A NOVEL WAS SHELVED FOR YEARS BECAUSE I SUFFERED SUCH A SEVERE BLOCK ON A SINGLE SCENE.

AMBER MICHELLE: WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE FELLOW WRITERS ON HOW TO COPE WITH IT? I KNOW PERSONALLY THAT IT CAN, IF LET GO ON FOR TOO LONG, ACTUALLY STOP THE STORY IN ITS TRACKS THROUGH FRUSTRATION AND GROWING SENSE OF SELF DOUBT.

eric.swett: I WOULD SAY THAT YOU SHOULD FORCE YOURSELF TO KEEP WRITING EVEN IF NOT ON YOUR MAIN PIECE. ONE THING I CAN RECOMMEND ALSO IS SKIPPING THE SCENE YOU ARE STUCK ON AND MOVE FURTHER INTO THE STORY…I HAVE A FRIEND WHO DOES THAT WITH SOME GREAT SUCCESS.

AMBER MICHELLE: HMMM, I HAD NEVER THOUGHT OF DOING THAT. I WILL BEAR THAT PARTICULAR PIECE OF ADVICE IN MIND, FOR AS A MATTER OF FACT, I AM SORT OF STUCK ON MY OWN WORK.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, DO YOU PRE-PLOT YOUR STORIES? LIKE MAKING OUTLINES AND NOTES AND THINGS TO DO WITH IT, OR JUST “WING IT”?

eric.swett: YES.

eric.swett: WELL REALLY I DO A LITTLE OF BOTH. I USUALLY HAVE A BROAD OUTLINE, A GENERAL STORY IDEA WITH CERTAIN CRITICAL POINTS ALONG THE WAY…THEN I START WRITING AND THE STORY TAKES ME WHERE IT WILL.

eric.swett: WITH ALONE I’VE STARTED OUTLINING A LITTLE MORE AGGRESSIVELY BUT IT STILL BOUNCES AROUND A BIT AS I GO.

AMBER MICHELLE: WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE ON HOW TO SET UP AN OUTLINE?

eric.swett : I AM SOOO NOT THE RIGHT PERSON TO ASK THAT. I AM STILL TRYING TO FIGURE THAT OUT MYSELF. I STILL FALL BACK TO THE INFORMATIONAL STYLE OF OUTLINE WHICH DOESN’T WORK SUPER WELL FOR FICTION, BUT IT FITS THE ORGANIZED PART OF MY MIND WELL.

AMBER MICHELLE: AH, SO IT IS SORT OF A “INSTINCTIVE” WAY OF DOING THINGS, BASED ON WHAT STORY YOU ARE WRITING?

AMBER MICHELLE: A LITTLE PLANNING AND A LITTLE “LEARNING AS YOU GO” IN OTHER WORDS.

eric.swett: SOMETHING LIKE THAT. LIKE I SAID, IT IS SOMETHING I AM STILL TRYING TO WORK OUT…I WANT TO OUTLINE BUT I HAVEN’T FIGURED OUT A METHOD THAT I AM COMFORTABLE WITH.

AMBER MICHELLE: OKAY, I CAN ACCEPT THAT.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, DO YOU HAVE ANY CURRENT WORKS IN PROGRESS THAT YOU MIGHT BE GROOMING FOR POSSIBLE AGENT APPROVAL?

AMBER MICHELLE: WITH A VIEW TOWARDS PUBLICATION?

eric.swett: I HAVE A PIECE OF SHORT FICTION THAT I AM IN THE PROCESS OF EDITING WITH THE INTENTION OF PUBLICATION. LONG TERM I HAVE “ALONE”, WHICH I HOPE TO EVENTUALLY GET PUT INTO BOOK FORMAT AND ANOTHER PIECE OF WORK THAT I’M NOT REALLY SHARING WITH ANYONE RIGHT NOW, BUT IT IS PRETTY FAR FROM COMPLETION AT THIS TIME…IT COULD USE A SERIOUS DOSE OF OUTLINING.

AMBER MICHELLE: WELL, I CAN PERSONALLY TELL YOU THAT IF YOU DECIDE TO PUBLISH “ALONE”, I WILL TAKE A GIANT LEAP OF FAITH IN YOUR TALENT AND MAKE A PREDICTION THAT IT WILL DO WONDERFULLY WELL.

AMBER MICHELLE: THAT STORY IS WICKEDLY AWESOME!

eric.swett: I’M GLAD YOU THINK SO. I THINK IT HAS SOME POTENTIAL.

AMBER MICHELLE: ERIC, I REALIZE YOU ARE BUSY, SO I WILL LET YOU GO.

AMBER MICHELLE: I WOULD LIKE TO THANK YOU FOR JOINING ME TODAY, AND FOR SHARING A TINY BIT OF YOUR LIFE AND WISDOM WITH REGARDS TO WRITING WITH ME AND WITH MY READERS

eric.swett: THANK YOU FOR HAVING ME.

AMBER MICHELLE: I WISH YOU THE VERY BEST IN ALL OF YOUR WRITING ENDEAVORS.

AMBER MICHELLE : DEAR READERS, I WOULD ALSO LIKE TO THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT MY BLOG AND TO MEET THIS WONDERFUL AND TALENTED WRITER, ERIC SWETT.

AMBER MICHELLE : YOU WILL BE IN FOR A REAL TREAT IF YOU VISIT HIS BLOG AT “MY WRITER’S CRAMP“.

AMBER MICHELLE : ONCE AGAIN, ERIC, THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR JOINING ME TODAY.

AMBER MICHELLE : THIS IS MARANTHA JENELLE SIGNING OFF FOR GHOST WHISPERS.

 

And so, dear readers, thus ends another visit with one of the talented and wonderful writers of WordPress. I am hoping to be able to post many more as I get to meet more of the fascinating people here on the site. If you would wish to keep up with the interviews, feel free to subscribe to my site, and also check out some of the other writers who share the stories from their hearts:

STEPHANIE, OF “BEKINDREWRITE

HER STORY PROMPTS ARE SO INSPIRING THAT THEY WILL GET EVEN THE MOST SLUGGISH IMAGINATION AND CREATIVITY MOVING

***

ERIC SWETT, OF “MY WRITER’S CRAMP

A FANTASTICALLY TALENTED WRITER, HIS STORIES WILL TAKE YOU BY THE HAND AND LEAD YOU INTO WORLDS OUTSIDE OUR OWN

***

SONIA, OF “ALL WHO WANDER ARE NOT LOST” (FORMERLY “DOING THE WRITE THING”

THIS LADY HAS A LOT OF TALENT, AND ALSO KNOWS QUITE A BIT ABOUT THE WRITING WORLD. HER BLOG OFTEN CONTAINS ADVISE AND ARTICLES THAT SHE SHARES WITH HER FELLOW WRITERS HERE ON WORDPRESS. SHE IS DEFINITELY ONE TO BOOKMARK, SUBSCRIBE TO AND WATCH.

***

PATTI, OF “A NEW DAY DAWNS

NOT ONLY AN EXTREMELY TALENTED WRITER, SHE ALSO CREATES BEAUTIFUL SCRAPBOOK PAGES AND JOURNALS, SOME OF WHICH CAN BE FOUND, LIKE HIDDEN TREASURE, AMONGST HER POSTS. HER STORIES ARE FILLED WITH INSPIRATION, HOPE, AND LOADS OF LOVE

***

JINX AND HER YOUNG BROTHER , PIANOLOVER, OF “JINX WRITINGS

THIS YOUNG DUO, A BROTHER AND A SISTER, ARE SO VERY TALENTED FOR THEIR AGE. JINX IS SWEET ENOUGH TO SHARE HER BLOG WITH HER BROTHER. THEIR STORIES ARE WELL WORTH DROPPING BY AND ENJOYING.

***

JUAN VILLAGRANA, OF “THESE IMMORTAL WORDS

ANOTHER ONE OF WORDPRESSES VERY TALENTED YOUNG WRITERS, THIS YOUNG MAN, IF HIS WORK CONTINUES TO BE AS GOOD AS WHAT HE SHARES WITH THE WORDPRESS COMMUNITY, STANDS A VERY GOOD CHANCE OF BECOMING A VERY POPULAR PUBLISHED AUTHOR.

***

BAYLEY TREW, OF “THIRTY NINE YEAR OLD LITERARY VIRGIN

THIS TALENTED YOUNG (AT LEAST FROM MY PERSPECTIVE!) WRITER, THOUGH HE CLAIMS TO BE NEW TO THE WRITING SCENE, DISPLAYS A GREAT DEAL OF TALENT. I THINK HE IS TOO MODEST WHERE HIS WRITING ABILITY IS CONCERNED, FOR HE IS VERY, VERY GOOD. HIS BLOG IS WELL WORTH A VISIT.

***

MY WORDS WHISPER

THIS WRITER’S STORIES ARE WELL WORTH CHECKING OUT.

***

CYNTHIAHERRON, OF “CYNTHIAHERRON

SWEET AND TALENTED, NOT TO MENTION SMART AND VERY PRETTY, WITH A DEGREE IN PSYCHOLOGY AND A BACKGROUND IN SOCIAL WORK, HER POSTS ARE A TRUE PLEASURE TO VISIT.

***

INDIGO SPIDER

EXTREMELY TALENTED, WITH A RATHER UNIQUE WAY OF VIEWING LIFE AND HERSELF, THIS WRITER IS A TRUE JOY TO READ, IF ONLY FOR THE FACT THAT THERE ARE OFTEN HIDDEN TRUTHS WITHIN HER SEEMINGLY BLASE ATTITUDE. SHE IS ONE YOU MIGHT WANT TO BOOKMARK AND KEEP AN EYE ON, FOR SHE IS REALLY GOOD.

***

BILLIE JO WOODS, OF “OUT OF THE WOODS

THIS SWEET WRITER IS EXTREMELY TALENTED, AND IS ABLE TO WRITE IN A VARIETY OF GENRES. HER WORK IS A TRUE TREAT.

SO COME ONE, COME ALL, MAKE YOURSELVES COMFORTABLE, GRAB A GLASS OF INTERNET COLA OR A SOOTHING CUP OF CYBER TEA, RELAX AND PREPARE FOR A FEAST FOR THE EYES, MIND AND HEART AS YOU VISIT

THE WONDERFUL WRITERS OF WORDPRESS.

About MARANTHA DREAMWEAVER JENELLE

WRITER'S USE WORDS TO PAINT PICTURES ON THE CANVASES OF THEIR READER'S MINDS. marantha d. jenelle/aka 'maradjen'

2 responses »

  1. Another great interview! Eric, I love your blog and had a lot of fun on that first writing challenge. They can be demanding though. 😀 And I definitely know about having writing legs cut out from under me and writer’s block. I went on a 15 year hiatus from writing. I’ve also put my MIP down for months. Sometimes, though, we need time away from our work to get some perspective. I’ve come back to my MIP and turned into a plotter…busily outlining away.

    • SONIA, HELLO AGAIN! ERIC WAS A TRUE JOY TO INTERVIEW, AS WERE YOURSELF AND JUAN. (BY THE WAY, I BACK UP YOUR COMMENT ABOUT THAT YOUNG MAN BEING A TRUE WRITER, NOT AN ASPIRING ONE!)

      KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!

      BY THE WAY, I PUT A SNEAK PEAK AT MY CURRENT WORK IN PROGRESS HERE ON THE SITE…THE ENTIRE LAST CHAPTER! IF YOU GET TIME, TAKE A LOOK AND SEE WHAT YOU THINK. OR HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THE COPY I SENT YOU?

      HOPE TO HEAR FROM YOU SOON.

      MARANTA

Leave a Reply

